It would seem I’ve hit a milestone in my…

It would seem I’ve hit a milestone in my project. I believe I have written most of the new code for implementing MPTT for categories. There were surprisingly few places which actually warranted any changes for retrieval methods. I have yet to fully test the new code of course, so I’ll be working over the next few days to build up a suitable installation (lots of categories, posts that use them, etc.) and figure out which various frontend features make use of which backend functions. I’ll also need a means to gauge performance. If there already exists some plugin/script for simple page generation timing, let me know, otherwise I’ll be writing one for my own purposes. While I’m not necessarily optimizing yet, some performance testing is necessary to make sure I’m on the right track and that this approach has some validity. So that’s where I’ve been and where I’m headed to.