So it turns out that this project is mor…

So it turns out that this project is more or less valid after all. I did a few simple tests displaying the front page with the default theme, using trunk and using my MPTT modifications. In each case, there was essentially just the default “Hello world!” post with a varied number of categories applied to it. Each installation had the same categories of course, and on any given test each one had the same categories selected. The MPTT installation was the clear speed winner every time. The margin depended rather significantly on both the number of categories selected and the depth at which those categories resided. I saw average page generation margins ranging from 5-40%, with the latter coming on a test using about five categories, one of which was at depth 7. It certainly wasn’t a comprehensive testing, nor was it necessarily realistic, but it shows that it is indeed worth the work.

Other than that testing, I got around to writing in some comments that I’ve been neglecting and I started writing the code for new installations and database upgrades for MPTT. Actually I should say I almost finished it. I got partway through testing when I realized that what I was doing to find top-level categories (parent == 0) would not work. It seems to me that there is no way to select top-level categories other than to select all and check each individually in a loop. This is because get_terms checks “if ($parent)” instead of “if (false !== $parent)”. I feel like it’d be a better idea to do the latter. Does anyone know if changing this will break anything or i it was designed this way for a reason? If not, I feel it would be better to change it to allow for top-level selection.