Updates from April, 2009 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Mark Jaquith 8:03 am on April 22, 2009 Permalink
    Tags:   

    <?php _e('Howdy'); ?> ever… 

    <?php _e('Howdy'); ?> everyone! I’m Mark Jaquith from Florida (GMT -04). I’m going to be mentoring Rudolf Lai on making WordPress a photo publishing powerhouse.

    I’m one of the core WordPress developers, and I earn my living doing WordPress consulting/development at Covered Web Services. Photography is my hobby, but I’d like to have more ownership and control over how my photos are displayed on the web. WordPress is evolving beyond just the written word… it’s becoming a hub for all your online presences and content.

     
  • anthonycole 5:30 am on April 22, 2009 Permalink
    Tags:   

    Kia Ora Everyone, My name’s Anthony Co… 

    Kia Ora Everyone,

    My name’s Anthony Cole and I’m from a small corner of the South Pacific we like to call New Zealand. I’m originally from the Silicon Valley area, but moved to Australia for my last year of high school and somehow found my way here (long story). Should also mention that I’m GMT+12.

    I am currently studying a foundation course for Health Science at the University of Otago on the South Island and will be doing a course in medicine either here or at the University of Sydney next year.

    I am a freelance web developer on the side at http://freshpacific.co.nz (which has been severely neglected, thus the blank directory). I do theme development and plugin development as well as everything in general.

    I am going to be working on the Event Management Suite with Jake Spurlock. We’re going to hopefully be using it to orchestrate WordCamp NZ in Wellington, and, time permitting, for WordCamp Australia later this year.

    I’m really excited to be able to participate in GSoC and can’t wait to see what the final product of all our hard work is going to be.

    You probably see me in IRC occasionally as lightbook if any of you frequent it.

     
  • mike 3:39 am on April 22, 2009 Permalink
    Tags:   

    Hey Everyone, I am Micheal Benedict Aru… 

    Hey Everyone,

    I am Micheal Benedict Arul from Mumbai, India (GMT +5.30). I am currently pursuing engineering in Information Technology (B.E IT) and will be graduating this year. This is the first time I had applied for Google Summer of Code, and am really glad to be selected and very excited to be a part of the WordPress Team.

    I along with my mentor Andrew Ozz, we`ll be working on “Theme Framework/Scratchpad/Editor” to help the WordPress users, i.e newbies and professional alike to design and create themes of their choice easily and deploy ’em.

    I have a blog/portfolio website at http://www.visionmasterdesigns.com. I am a freelancer. I do Web Design/development and Deployment in PHP, Ruby on Rails(wish WordPress was for the RoR community too), also I have worked on a number of custom themes for wordpress, created a plugin and modified numerous other plugins (all credits go to the respective plugin authors :)).

    Prior to GSoC, I was engaged on developing my own Web Framework in PHP called “Innovite” which is based on the MVC architecture, the code is not yet released. This framework powers my web based Project Management System called “OptimaPrime” and also powers a number of my clients websites.

    I am looking forward to a lot of coding and a great time here at SoWP.

    Regards
    Micheal (a.k.a Mike)

    EDIT : BTW this theme is really cool and great. Haven`t seen something like this around.

     
  • Beau Lebens 12:11 am on April 22, 2009 Permalink
    Tags:   

    Hi everyone, Beau Lebens here. I’m in S… 

    Hi everyone, Beau Lebens here. I’m in San Francisco (PDT — GM T-7) and will be mentoring Daryl Koopersmith, working on a Theme Framework/builder of some sort. We’ve got some work to do, figuring out the exact scope of the project still. We started chatting today on IRC so it’ll be good get things happening properly.

    I’m from Australia originally, but have been here in SF for 4 years now. I’ve worked on a number of custom themes and different WordPress project, plus wrote the new LiveJournal importer. I’m looking forward to seeing how this all goes since this is the first time I’ve been involved in GSoC (so we’re in this together Daryl!)

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel